logo   login
right
Home Forums Downloads Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Forum Info
Forum Members: 18,677
Total Threads: 8,796
Posts: 95,827

Administrators:
DeeZire, Redemption

There are currently 28 users online.
Partner Links

Free Credit Repair

Learn the Ticket Broker Secrets
Advertisements


Generals & Zero Hour Editing Discuss any modding related issues to do with Generals and Zero Hour here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2003, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to EvilViking
Default An Act of War preview clip!

Hey everyone! Just thought I'd give the community a little peek at what the AAOW team's been working on over at http://act-of-war.ca.tc/ . I just put up a 30sec preview clip on the downloads page here: http://membres.lycos.fr/actofwar /downloads.asp . It's only 1.76mb. Tell me what ya think. =)
EvilViking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 07:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 386
Send a message via AIM to warlord Send a message via MSN to warlord Send a message via Yahoo to warlord
Default

Looking good.
warlord is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 08:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to EvilViking
Default

Thanks! I'd also like to thank the many of you that helped me over the past 4 months move from RA2 editing to Generals editing. It's because of you that I've gotten this far. =)
EvilViking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 06:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to Flyby
Default TROJAN HORSE !! do not DL

Shame on you !!!
your download page has a trojan horse installed : Trojan.Verybyte

My Norton AV got it in time, but i fear for those who're not so obseessed with security...
Flyby is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 09:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to EvilViking
Default

HOLY CRAP! Are you SERIOUS!!?? Was this just the downloads page, or is it the whole site? My McAfee didn't pick anything up. I'm going to take it down & scan everything again. Could it have been something else that you were doing online?? PLEASE REPLY BACK!
EvilViking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 09:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to EvilViking
Default

I've taken down the downloads site, but I think you're mistaken. I made sure my anti-virus was up to date, then I searched a virus database for "verybyte". No matches. Then I tried "very". 6 matches, none of them were even trojens, let alone "verybyte". I then searched another database. Nothing. So, I tried searching the entire Internet! No matches. Is this some sort of joke?
EvilViking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to Flyby
Default

It is not a joke ! :/
All I can say is that my Corporate Norton Anti-virus 2003 popped up when i tried to view the movie file, indicating it found a trojan “Trojan.ByteVerify”.

The file is not necessarily called like the Trojan virus, because it comes as a java program. You get the malicious program as soon you open a webpage that forces the java prog to load. A very shocking experience as now you can even get viruses by simply browsing around.

More info :
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/cache_virus.jsp

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/tre...n/MS03-011.asp

Norton gave me the exact location where it was hidden in my cache. I noticed it was a VERY recent file (like 5 mins ago), I then deleted the complete cache folder to make sure it was gone.

I can not tell exactly where it came from : the preview download, the other movies on your site I viewed, advertising banners.? But I got it by accessing your site..
Flyby is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 01:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to EvilViking
Default

I'm really sorry about this, FlyBy. :-\ I've taken down the downloads page until I get to the bottem of this. You know any free online scanners that could find it on my PC if it is from my site?
EvilViking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 02:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to EvilViking
Default

Update: I've done some research, and this trojan is NOT very threatening. If your anti-virus detects it, most likely you have NOT been infected, it's just warning you. "Notification of infection does not always indicate that a machine has been infected; it only indicates that a program included the viral class file. This does not mean that it made use of the malicious functionality."

Second, is you ARE infected, all it does is add a few pronographic links to your favorites and changes your homepage. Now, don't get me wrong, that ticks me off, but IT DOES NOT THREATEN YOUR SYSTEM.

According to those links, here is how threatening it is:
Geographical distribution: Low
Threat containment: Easy
Removal: Easy

As you can see, it's not a big deal. I'm going to go over the HTML on the site with a fine-tooth comb and see if I can find it. I apologize to anyone that this may have inconvenianced. :/
- PCTeen1

EDIT: I FOUND IT! There is a java script on the downloads page, a standard one that asks you if you want to make that page your homepage. If you've noticed, the script doesn't work! :tard: I think this is how the trojan got in. I'm removing the script & re-uploading the downloads page. Thanks for your help, FlyBy!
EvilViking is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 04:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 386
Send a message via AIM to warlord Send a message via MSN to warlord Send a message via Yahoo to warlord
Default

hmmm guess im not infected since my homepage didnt change and i didnt get any porn link in my favorites I guess why Mcafee never caught it was because it was harmless. Anyways good to hear you got it removed.
warlord is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preview Sound Function Praetorian Map Authoring 3 01-09-2008 03:42 AM
Defcon Preview Video Released mastermind2003 Generals & Zero Hour Editing 1 10-31-2004 07:06 PM
Generals 40k: Only War Pimping Preview Boomerang_Python Generals & Zero Hour Editing 3 05-13-2004 06:51 AM
An Act of War model preview pics (SU-37, T-72, 120mm, more) EvilViking Generals & Zero Hour Editing 15 02-12-2004 04:59 PM
XGR Editor preview XTF Generals & Zero Hour Editing 0 03-06-2003 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Design By: Miner Skinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.